Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Visa Information

Do I require a visa when travelling to Lisbon, Portugal?

Nationals of the European Union do not need a visa to enter Portugal. They have the right to reside in national territory for a period up to 90 days without other conditions or formalities beyond holding a valid identity card or passport.

In addition, Visas are not required for USA, Canadian, Australian and British nationals. They can stay in the country without a visa for up to 90 days in a 180-day period.

Portugal is part of the Schengen system, which allows visitors to travel to all 26 countries without a visa. Therefore, if travelling from one border-free Schengen country to another, EU nationals are not required to show a passport.

List of countries that are part of the Schengen Area:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

List of countries whose nationals need to apply for a visa before travelling to Portugal:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guyana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Papua-New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

To enter Portugal, foreigners that are not exempt from it must be holders of a visa which is valid for the duration of the intended purpose of stay. This visa must always be requested at a Portuguese Embassy or Consulate (in Portuguese).

A short stay visa (Schengen visa) can be issued with a period of validity which can be up to one year, but the authorized period of stay in Portugal may not exceed 3 months in a half-year period. The short stay visa may be extended up to 90 days. The holder of a Schengen visa may travel freely throughout the Schengen zone. However, if the stay exceeds 90 days in a half-year period, as of the date of the first entry in an external border, the validity of the visa is limited to Portugal.

For more information on Portugal visas, please visit the Portugal Ministry of Foreign Affairs website or the Shengen Visa information website.

Important Information: The information available here is for general purpose only. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.